Practise Research Project 3

Standard

25th July 2012

Having watched many of the My Life episodes I took these thoughts and contemplated how interesting a My Life styled documentary about guide dogs would be.

The more I thought about it I soon realised that it combined all of my passions and was the perfect final research project for me.

I came up with two possible types of contributors that could provide an interesting story:

  1. A family member who has an assistance dog and there under 12 children, niece/ nephews or grand children tell the story
  2. A young person of under 14 year olds who has or is getting an assistance dog.

And so in early February 2012 I set about trying to find the perfect contributor, to begin with I contacted charities, Dogs for the Disabled, Canine Partners, Support Dogs, RNIB, National Blind Children’s Society, An many local deaf support centres. (to name a few)

Most got back to me and although were very interested in the project, but due to being charities did not have the resources or contacts to be able to provide me with any assistance.

It was a huge disappointment but I was not going to give up that easily!!!

Throughout my research into assistance dogs, I started to really appreciate the work that the support charities do and how important volunteers are to them. And so I decided that I could spare some time to volunteer.

Leave a Reply

